Food

The best pumpkin cupcake recipe

Hi, everyone!

This week i’m going to be sharing my all-time favorite fall recipe, pumpkin cupcakes with cream cheese icing. I can’t remember how I came across this Joyofbaking.com recipe (probably Pinterest if you’d like to follow me here) but i’ve been using it for years now & it never fails. If you’ve been wanting to bake something pumpkin to get into the fall spirit, look no further, this is the recipe!

img_0275

For this recipe, you’ll need a cupcake tray, cupcake liners (I always find seasonal ones at Christmas Tree Shop), measuring cups, measuring spoons and some type of mixer (mine is KitchenAid & I swear by it). You’ll also need the cupcake and icing ingredients listed below…

img_0252

Pumpkin Cupcakes:

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves (I didn’t have cloves today so I substituted with a dash of allspice!)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup granulated white sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

3/4 cup solid packed, canned pumpkin puree

To start, preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices & salt. Set aside.

In a mixer, cream butter and sugar together until combined and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla extract. On low speed, alternate adding a little flour mixture and pumpkin puree until all ingredients are combined & the batter looks like it does in my photo below.

Spoon into cupcake tray and bake for 18-22 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

 

img_0256

Cream Cheese Icing:

4 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted (I always skip the sifting step for this recipe…)

Cream together cream cheese and butter. Add vanilla extract. Slowly add powdered sugar until all ingredients are combined. Typically I use my mixer for the icing but I was honestly too lazy to clean it  this time (don’t judge).

On this particular day, I also decided to break out some icing bags. If I really knew what I was doing with this fancy icing stuff, i’d be able to tell you which Wilton tip I used but I truly have no clue. I just chose the one that looked like a star.

img_0264

And finally, we have pumpkin cupcakes with cream cheese frosting!!! This recipe makes about 18 cupcakes & just enough icing. Trust me, you need to try this recipe as soon as possible!

If you’d find a video more helpful, here’s one from the website i’ve had bookmarked for years. Don’t worry if your cream cheese icing doesn’t look as white as theirs, mine never has!

 

Leave a Reply

